Snowy Adventures

Recently many states received an unwelcomed visit from Winter Storm Jonas. People found themselves stuck in their homes, some without power, and I am sure snow shovels were in short supply for most southern dwellers. Each individual who witnessed and survived this “snowpocalypse” has a story to share, and here is mine in a nut shell.

Called into work on Friday- Stuck there until Sunday

Travel time to work doubled

Approximately 100 cookies baked

Standing in the freezing cold for over 30 minutes

One call to the police

No shower curtains or toilet paper in the room where I stayed overnight

Bombarded by snow

Double shift on Saturday

Celebration when I looked outside and the precipitation ceased

Dig out my car and 4 other cars on campus (because it is Sunday at this point and we all want to go home)

Subdivision still covered

Shoveled a driveway

Had someone report by car abandoned

Cops shows up sees my car was not abandoned and departs

Went through 3 pairs of socks and 3 pairs of gloves

34 hours without sleep

Wore the same clothes for about that long

16 hours without food

Return to subdivision (Monday by this point)

Shoveled part of the cul de sac where I live trying to get home

Shoveled a spot in the neighbors driveway to park my car (thank you neighbor)

Make it in the house by 2:30 pm Monday

Sleep for 2 hours

Back to work for the night

Return home Tuesday morning to a plowed subdivision and driveway

Me and my car both safely home

This concludes my snowy adventures, what’s yours?

 

2 Comments

  1. bruceparham said,

    January 28, 2016 at 7:59 pm

    My goodness Vanessa. Sounds like you had a long snow storm experience I’m glad you made it back home safely

  2. Minister Jyn said,

    February 4, 2016 at 1:44 am

    We were texting during much of this, but I had no clue about the no toilet paper situation. Oh my word!


Leave a Reply

