Not a Beggar

There is a song played on the radio and the young lady sings “I’m on my knees, begging you please.” The song speaks of her desire for God to remain with her and not leave her, even when she is a punk sometimes. The song is a fun song with an important message, but I am not writing about the song, I am writing about this one line which was really the only part of the song I heard the first time I heard it. I turned on the radio and heard the line “I’m on my knees, begging you please.” I had no idea to what the song was referring, but I said out loud, “I’m not a beggar.” God gently spoke to me and said, “No you are not.” You see I am a child of the King. I don’t have to crouch at the end of the table, and beg for scraps. I pull up a chair to the table and I can eat freely of all my Father has for me. If I need healing, it is on the table for me. If I need courage or strength, it is already on my plate for me. If I need peace, hope, or an extra dose of love and compassion, it is right there at my fingertips. If I need financial provision, it is there for me. Anything I need, I can pull up to the Father’s table and accept what God has for me. I can even come back as often as I need a refill.  I don’t have to live on yesterday’s blessings, I can come to the table every day, as often as I need to get full. God is a good Father and a mighty King who provides everything I need. I don’t have to beg, I just have to pull up to the table and eat freely.

Leave a Reply

