One of Our Own

This past weekend I had the immense pleasure and amazing opportunity to speak at the Virginia Girl’s Jamboree. Being asked to speak at such an esteemed event is quite an honor. I enjoyed the chance to speak into the lives of these beautiful young ladies. As a part of my introduction, I was honored with prestigious accolades and acknowledgments of past accomplishments, but the statement which made me feel the most loved and accepted and appreciated was when the comment was made, “She’s one of our own.” Now don’t get me wrong, I am an Eastern North Carolina (ENC) girl and that will always be my home state. You may take the girl out of ENC but you can’t take the ENC out of the girl. With that being clarified, there is something to be said about being accepted. I have been in Virginia for only a few years. I was not born or raised here. I am an outsider. I did not grow up at the campgrounds of Virginia, I don’t have Virginia Youth Camp stories or tales to be told. I can’t say, I have known and grown up with anyone who is here. I do not have connections which extend back to the first time we ever met at a Virginia state function. I have only attended 2 years of Youth Camp in Virginia. I have only worked 3 Girls’ Jamborees. I have only attended a few Campmeeting services and I have been to even fewer Ministers’ meetings. I have attempted to connect and become involved as I have been here, but I don’t have memories spanning my lifetime of growing up and experiencing Virginia Church of God state events. I am an outsider (I do not say this in a negative connotation, but as a simple statement of fact). So to be accepted in this amazing group of Virginia Church of God folks, to be called “One of our own.” Makes me feel loved. So thank you Virginia for accepting me and allowing me to be one of yours.

1 Comment

  1. Tina Walls said,

    May 26, 2016 at 6:28 am

    So glad to have you in Virginia and proud of the way you work with kids. You are an amazing young lady gifted to enhance the lives of those around you. Keep up the good work and know that your efforts are immensely appreciated!


Leave a Reply

