The Breakup

Dear Fear,

So we have been in a relationship for quite a while. I knew you before I knew much of anything else. When you first entered my life you protected me and kept me safe from danger. I don’t want you to feel I am unappreciative of that, because I am, but as I got older and bolder and attempted to venture out on my own, you did not approve.

You held me back from pursuing my dreams. You convinced me people would laugh and mock me. I was told I would never make it and failing would be my only destiny if I were to step out of the comfort zone you created for me. Any attempts to engage in a new adventure was met with a condescending whisper and a disappointing glare. I was discouraged from making new connections as they may be a poor influence on me, actually encouraging me to pursue my passion. When I did dare to believe, and something happened which temporarily set me back, you were there reminding me of how ridiculous I looked and how I should never attempt such foolishness again. You persuaded me that there was too much hurt in the world for me to venture out and try to love. You said I may be rejected so I should not bother making the effort.

You told me…

“I would not amount to anything.”

“I would be rejected.”

“I would only fail at my dreams.”

“I would be hurt.”

“I would look foolish.”

“I do not have what it takes.”

Your words are hurtful and they hold me back. I know you believe you are doing what is best for me, but I need to be able to dream and pursue and love. I have met someone who has told me it is okay to do these things.

He told me…

“I am loved”

“I am never forsaken”

“Through Him, nothing is impossible.”

“I can do all things through Him.”

So fear, I am going to have to ask you to leave now. You have protected me, but you have held me back for far too long. I have someone who makes it okay for me to dream again. I have someone who not only believes in the passions I have, but actually placed them there in the first place. Don’t worry fear, Jesus will take good care of me and if I fall, He will lift me up and if I am rejected by all others, He will always love me, and if I look foolish in pursuit of my dreams, then I am in good company because people thought Jesus looked silly but the things He accomplished made it totally worth it. Jesus has me now and He will take good care of me. So long fear, it’s not me, it’s you. This just isn’t working anymore. We are going down different paths now. It just wasn’t meant to be. I just don’t need you any more. Sayonara fear.

Nevermore yours,

Vanessa

 

2 Comments

  1. Phyllis Vivod said,

    October 30, 2016 at 11:17 pm

    Vanessa darlin’ — You amaze me. God is using you in so many ways. I am very proud of you.

  2. poutaboutit said,

    November 26, 2016 at 1:39 am

    I love this.


Leave a Reply

